I’m obsessed…

by brokenrecordbaby

…with this picture.

 

I was at Pengland last night (a creative collaboration, platform thing) to conduct an interview for Flamingo’s second issue. The place, especially on Tuesday nights (their ‘introduce-yourself-share-ideas-get-plans-started-night), was full of creative people boppin’ about the place.

I got talking to Hermann, a photographer (who turns out is friends with one of the people we interviewed for Flamingo’s first issue. Small, bizarre world) and he showed me this picture. At first glance it looks like it could be your usual hipster, black’n’white photo, right? The ironic ‘tache, the nerdy glasses, swept back hair and the over the top ‘I am not posing but totally am’ pose. This picture is from a German party in the 1920s! Hermann said: ‘These people were so ahead and modern for their time!’ I liked his outlook. A lot of people would say that we are just copying styles from eras passed and haven’t really got our own thing going. But lets go with what Hermann said…

