Ice Cream Inspiration

by Lisa

A little over a week ago a friend and I were strolling in Boerum Hill, Brooklyn on a sunny Tuesday afternoon. To make things even better we randomly found Van Leeuwen Ice Cream shop, which we immediately entered.

I first tasted Van Leeuween Artisan ice cream a couple of years ago when I was in Manhattan. There happened to be a little street festival going on downtown and right in the middle of the closed off street was a pretty pale yellow ice cream truck. With flavors, such as Earl Gray, Hazlenut, and Red Currant, I was intrigued and went ahead and tried the Ginger ice cream and I was hooked!

The best part about their ice cream is that it’s the real deal. Milk, cream, sugar, and eggs make up the custard base. All the ingredients are high quality and sourced as locally as possible. This time around I tried the Pistachio which was creamy with a subtle roasted flavor from the nuts. So simple and perfect.

I decided that when I got home I was going to experiment with a flavor of my own. I bought some locally grown strawberries from the farmers market in my town, so….

Strawberry Chocolate Chunk and Balsamic Swirl!

